Election 2018 Results

From Patti Meier, Chair of Congressional District 3 Republicans,

The following is an excerpt of an email sent to the Republican Senate Districts and BPOUs in Congressional District 3 the day after Election Day:

“Election 2018 did not go our way. To those of you who put your heart and soul into the effort … THANK YOU. Your time and commitment was appreciated by our candidates.

“Congratulations to those candidates that won their MN House races and to those who were successful in local and school board contests.

“We took a big hit in CD3 and across the State. To our friends that lost THANK YOU for your personal sacrifices and your commitment to make our State and Country better for all of us.

“Now we need to pick ourselves up, dust ourselves off and start all over again. We need to organize and recommit ourselves to our beliefs and principles.

“Rest and reflect today and get ready to take our Victory lap in 2020.

“I again ask all of you to get involved in your Senate District.”

Thanks to the Republican-endorsed Candidates

State and National Candidates are frequently in the spotlight, garnering a lot of attention from the media and campaign volunteers. Local candidates do not generally get as much attention. They and their families sacrifice personal time and (this year, especially) encounter both the best and worst of commentary and actions from their fellow Minnesotans. We thank each of them for the service they have provided by running for office.

Voter turnout this year was very strong for a mid-term, over 85% in SD49. It was also marked by a significant turn-out of DFL voters. Five-term U.S. Representative Erik Paulsen came up short. Jennifer Zielinski ran valiantly in Congressional District 5 against the Minneapolis DFL machine.

Virtually all of the incumbent Republican MN House members in Hennepin County were defeated, including Sarah Anderson, Cindy Pugh, Jennifer Loon, and Dario Anselmo. As we go to press, Hennepin County Sheriff Rich Stanek’s race was still too close to call.
See the Secretary of State website for Election Results details by office and precinct.

Senate District 49 owes a heartfelt thanks to several candidates that we know and who ran hard.

Dario Anselmo was a very effective fundraiser and strived to reflect the special interests of Edina. He frequently attended our events with his wife Jeannie, and we enjoyed our close relationship.

Kirsten Johnson (50A) and Chad Anderson (50B) were very worthy candidates working with minimal contributions and few volunteers. They were still out walking in parades and attending community events. They door-knocked virtual every day and placed yard signs throughout their districts. Ellen Cousins (48A) was the chair of Senate District 48A before she was endorsed as a Republican candidate for the MN House. She also ran a strong campaign and would have made a valuable member of the House.

A bright spot was the Edina City Council race. Ron Anderson received the highest vote count, retiring incumbent Rob Stewart. Though Anderson did not affiliate with the Republican Party, his campaign against inadequately-enforced growth and development struck a number of conservative notes.

Brad Aho was the endorsed Republican candidate for Eden Prairie’s Mayor and ran a very competitive but ultimately unsuccessful race. Mark Freiberg, a Republican-favored candidate, won one of two Eden Prairie City Council seats. Another Republican-endorsed candidate and a frequent attendee at our Pints & Politics, Andy Moller, did not make the cut.

While the Minnesota House tilted to a DFL majority, the Minnesota Senate retained a Republican edge of one seat. Senate Majority Leader Paul Gazelka offered to work with Gov. Walz on legislation of common interest. However, Gazelka stated election night that the Senate would not support universal health care, and it would not support sanctuary cities.